Beauty / Health / Skincare

Best Aluminum Free Deodorants?

(photo credit)

(photo credit)


I’ve been reading through the Trim Healthy Mama book and I’m in the 200’s pages. My learning curve is quite steep at the moment, they are teaching me many new things. I’ve recently discovered my deodorant has aluminum in it and this is not a good thing.

Aluminum attacks your central nervous system, contributes to brain disease, and may cause liver toxicity. Apparently, putting it on your underarms in the form of deodorant every day RIGHT NEXT TO YOUR LYMPH NODES is a bad idea.

Aluminum is the most widely distributed metal on the planet and it’s used in the production of many every-day products. Cookware is made from aluminum, soda cans are aluminum, and aluminum foil is found in most kitchens. Aluminum is also in antacids, aspirin, vaccines, and even flour. This overwhelming infestation of aluminum means that your risk of exposure is through the roof, which is also made of aluminum. Unlike vitamins, minerals, and trace elements, the body does not need aluminum. And aluminum is no innocent or benign participant. Aluminum accumulates in the kidneys, brain, lungs, liver and thyroid where it competes with calcium for absorption and can affect skeletal mineralization. ~Global Healing Center

I went to the store and found Tom’s deodorant in the scents of lavendar (which I’m incredibly allergic to), unscented, and apricot. No thanks….and they wanted to charge me $5-$6 for a container of it. So I thought, I’ll bet there’s another option out there that makes more scents :)

Since this is a pretty naturalistic group, I would love to know what you do for deodorant, or what you like best, or if you’ve experimented with making your own.

I had very good results the last time I asked this group a question about facial moisturizers. I’m now a virgin coconut oil user for facial moisturizer and am very happy with the results…and the price.

(Note: I also plan to change my baking powder to an aluminum free one soon)

How To Make Your Own Stick Deodorant (Wikihow)

How To Make Natural Deodorant (Wellness Mama)

An Entire Pinterest Page Addressing Making Your Own Deodorant (Pinterest)

23 thoughts on “Best Aluminum Free Deodorants?

  1. Someone I’m sure will correct me if wrong but I believe it is anti-perspirents and not deodorants that have aluminum. Deodorants like have their own issues however.

    • I’m thinking about it. Was wondering if some people preferred some ingredients over others. Seems like coconut oil is in the mixture for sure.

  2. Baking soda causes me to break out so in the winter I use plain coconut oil. I’m going to try adding arrowroot powder when the weather cools down to get it to last a little longer on me. Have to use something stronger in the summer though so I buy Desert Essence from my co-op. Hate paying the $5 price tag. I’ve read, but not tried, that vodka will work but may have to be applied a couple times throughout the day. It’s supposed to kill the bacteria that causes the stink.

  3. Hello everyone,
    Well… This is a sensitive (embarrassing) topic for me because I tend to get BO very easily. I have to be checking myself all the time and have a deodorant roll on everywhere ( my car, my bag, my gym bag, my locker at work, my in laws house) … Sometimes I think that if I stand next to someone with BO I will catch it lol
    L’occitane and biotherm have deodorants without aluminum and parabens but the price is not so “friendly”. At the moment I use Dove ( no paraben but has aluminum) because it was on sale at the store and it works fine.
    I think I am going to try to make that coconut oil and baking soda deodorant. When I was going through puberty my tendency to get BO was really bad, my mom used to make me rub my armpits with guava tree leaves and apply baking soda and lemon during the night time. It saved my social life.
    But I was surprised when I found out that my mom, my grandma and aunties do not use deodorant at all!!! They don’t smell bad, never! My mom only uses it if she knows she is going to sweat a lot(exercise, gardening).

    • I was very surprised the first time I found out someone didn’t use it on purpose either.

      I hope the coconut oil/baking soda works for you. I’ve been trying coconut oil the past few days and have broken out some, so I might give it a few more days to see if it’s going to be something I like.

  4. I’ll be honest, none of them work very well. I found that any deodorants with baking soda burned my underarms and the rest just didn’t work. Not to mention that even if you are able to stop yourself from smelling, you won’t be stopping the sweat, and for many people, this just isn’t really an option.

    The only baking soda free deodorant that ever worked for me was milk of magnesia… It works so well! But, like I said before, it is not an antiperspirant and I did eventually go back to Secret.

  5. Here’s the bad news about antiperspirants beyond the aluminum issue. I long ago read a book with a now forgotten title (sorry). It addressed antiperspirants among other general health issues. The reason you don’t sweat when using them is they irritate your pores just enough that they swell shut. Where does that perspiration go? The book didn’t say but it can’t be good.

      • This from your source:
        “When the aluminum ions are drawn into the cells, water passes in with them. As more water flows in, the cells begin to swell, squeezing the ducts closed so that sweat can’t get out.”

        I don’t know if this process would be defined “scientifically” as irritation or not, but the end result is still the same. I would bet most people think it somehow prevents perspiration from being created. I was just looking to clarify that possible misunderstanding. Thanks for the link to that interesting site. I like those “how it works” kind of sites.

      • I don’t think it would be considered irritation. I probably wouldn’t worry about the effect of “backed up” sweat though. An antiperspirant only has to reduce wetness by 20% in order to be called an antiperspirant and even the extra strength stuff only reduces wetness by about 30%. When I work out, antiperspirants definitely do not stop the sweat, yuck lol!

  6. Hmmmm…I’ve decided that I’m clinging to my standard-aluminum-loaded antiperspirant/deodorant until they nail the box lid shut. :-) I figure I’m going to kick at some point anyway – in the meantime, no need to offend myself and others LOL

  7. I used to use Queen Helene Mint Julep deodorant. It’s not an antiperspirant, so you’ll still sweat, but if you wash daily and wear natural fibers, it works fairly well. I still use it sometimes, but I have to admit I mostly use antiperspirants (alas, with aluminum) now.

Leave a Reply

