Us Girls

Get A Life

No matter how submissive, how kind, how supportive, how sweet you are, if you don’t have an interesting full life without your husband, you are putting him on a pedestal and you are not living life to the fullest. So take some time to figure out what you want to do, what brings you joy, what makes you passionate, and go after it.

I’ve heard of marriage being compared to a see-saw before where sometimes he’s the one on top and you are making all the sacrifices for him and sometimes you get to be on top and he makes it possible for you to be successful. Don’t be the one stuck on the bottom all the time. Your life is not meant to completely revolve around your husband and your children, find your place in this world, find your community, find your people.

“The place God calls you to is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.” Frederick Buechner

6 thoughts on “Get A Life

  1. Yes.

    Personally I recommend 1) something that gets you out of the house to talk to grown ups and 2) a hobby about which you are passionate, something in which you can pursue excellence.

    • yes Hearthie, a much better way of saying it. I’ve been growing a little bitter this week. You are so refreshing. I’m sure it’s showing.

      • I’m sorry things are out of sorts with you Sis. Sometimes is just like “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day” day after day after day. I hope the sun starts shining for you soon

      • I think you need a hug. ((hug))

        I’ll be out this morning but in this afternoon – you have my phone number if you need to chat. -smush-

        And of course you CAN pester your husband by insisting that he lace you up to see how your corset fits and then blathering at him about it endlessly… there are no perfect answers. ;)

      • you are so wonderful.

        We are going roller skating today, that always cheers me up. I read a bad book, I’ll get over it, knew I shouldn’t have read that crap but she was such a good writer. Regretting it, dug up a bunch of old fears.

Leave a Reply

